Dorset Coast




Dorset Coast and Seaside Resorts

Sandbanks Ferry Poole DorsetDorset is a primarily rural county on the south coast - it's bordered to the west by Devon and to the east by Hampshire. The population of Dorset is just over 700,000, this includes the main urban areas of Poole, Bournemouth and Dorchester - ( Poole and Bournemouth are now Unitary Authorities) Dorchester is the county town of Dorset and centre of administration. 

Dorset has a beautiful coast consisting of high cliffs and many small coves which contrast with the major holiday resorts of Poole, Bournemouth, Weymouth and Swanage. The Jurassic Coast World Heritage site is mostly located in Dorset. 


Below are links to the main Dorset coastal resorts - Poole and Bournemouth are include here although they are both Unitary Authorities 

Lyme Regis - Bridport Guide








Ukcoastguide 2019